Ground was broken on the John B. Murphy Memorial Auditorium in 1923, and construction was completed in 1926. The Auditorium was built to serve as a tangible memorial to the great Dr. John B. Murphy. Shortly following Dr. Murphy's death his friends sought to honor him forming the John B. Murphy Memorial Association. The Auditorium was built on the property of the American College of Surgeons ("ACS"), with the agreement that ACS would maintain the building as a memorial to Dr. Murphy. The Auditorium was designed to host ACS meetings and serve as a center for education in surgery.
The architects for this gorgeous building were Marshall and Fox. The architectural design of this Auditorium is in the French Renaissance style and is reminiscent of the Chapelle de Notre-Dame de Consolation the Commemorative Monument to the Bazar de la Charite Fire, located in Paris, France. The similarity in architectural design is evident on both the exterior and interior of the Auditorium.
The Auditorium was renovated in 1987 due to the growing need for space by some departments of ACS. In, 2003, after ACS had moved all offices to the new headquarters' building, located at 633 N. Saint Clair, restoration work began on the Auditorium. This restoration work was completed in June of 2006, and the Auditorium has been returned to its original splendor. Virtually every detail has been restored or replicated to its original design. The John B. Murphy Memorial Auditorium is truly one of Chicago's finest architectural jewels.
The American College of Surgeons maintains ownership of the Auditorium and in June of 2006 opened it to the public as one of Chicago's event venues.
This event proved to be a great success and showcased the beauty of The Murphy Auditorium. The professionalism, effort, and dedication of your staff helped make the event a wonderful experience for all...